16/3 (1552-1561) [13]

Item otro libro de vnas cubiertas coloradas de motetes y magnificas y hymnos de diversos auctores son los que siguen. Este es de mano de lobayna y sin rubrica y otro de las quinze missas del mesmo lobayna: Morales, Sumens ilud ave, fo: i / Pastrana, Tibi soli pecavi, fo: ii / Morales, Ave maris stella, fo: ii / Pastrana, Vexilla regis, fo: iii / Basurto, Liber generationis, fo: iiii / Basurto, O lux et decus, fo: viii / Basurto, O felix anna, fo: x / Jusquin, Rogamus te, fo: xii / Jusquin, Ave maria, fo: xiiii / Peñalosa, Ave maria , fo: xvi / Ricafort, Quem dicunt homines, fo: xvii / And[res] Silva, Surrexit pastor, fo: xviiii / Ribaflecha, Quam pulchra es, fo: xxii / Monton, Regem arcangelorum, fo: xxiiii / Errasimus, Nativitas, fo: xxvii / Silva, Laetatus sum, fo: xxviiii / Jo. Monton, Puer natus, fo: xxxi / Hotinet Bara, Nuptiae factae sunt, fo: xxxiii / Jusquin, Qui habitat, fo: xxxv / Jusquin, In exitu, fo: xxxviiii / Vincentius, Salve, fo: xxxxv / Carpentras, Salve, fo: xxxxviii / Jusquin, Missus est, fo: Li / Jusquin, Ave maria, fo: Lii / Monton, Felix namque, fo: Liii / Laurus, Accedens, fo: Lv / Fevim, Vulnerasti, fo: Lvi / Laurus, Visita quesumus d[omi]ne, fo: Lviiii / Laurus, Gaude virgo, fo: Lx / Montes, Levavi, fo: Lxii / Pastrana, Vidi aquam, fo: Lxiiii / Jusquin, Nigra sum, fo: Lxvi / Pastrana, Circundederunt, fo: Lxvii / Jusquin, Salve, fo: Lxviii / Jusquin, Stabat mater, fo: Lxviiii / Montes, Erat d[omin]us Ihesus, fo: Lxxi / Ribaflecha, Ne proicias me, fo: Lxxii / Pastrana, Regina çeli, fo: Lxxiiii / Monton, In illo tempore, fo: Lxxv / Pastrana, Et exultavit, fo: Lxxviii / Pastrana, Ecce nos reliquimus, fo: Lxxxi / Pastrana, Asperges, fo: Lxxxii / Escobedo, Vale igitur hieronyme, fo: Lxxxiiii / Jusquin, Pater noster, fo: Lxxxv / M[aest]re Nicolas, Tulerunt, fo: Lxxxviii / Pastrana, Beata nobis, fo: Lxxxviiii / Pastrana, Fabordones. Son ocho, fo: Lxxxviiii / Pastrana, Beata quoque, fo: Lxxxx / Pastrana, Pange lingua, fo: Lxxxxi / Pastrana, Nuncius celso, fo: Lxxxxi / Pastrana, Vita dulcedo, fo: Lxxxxiii / Pastrana, Ave maris stella, fo: Lxxxxv / Pastrana, Hostis herodes, fo: Lxxxxvi / Pastrana, Exultet coelum laudibus, fo: Lxxxxvii / Pastrana, Non ex virili, fo: Lxxxxviii / Jusquin, Dum complerentur, fo: Lxxxxviii / Faber, Venite et videte, fo: C / Monton, Magnificat, fo: Ciii / Monton, Magnificat, fo: Cvi / Bargas, Te mane laudum, fo: Cviii / Alonso, Salve, fo: Cviiii / Morales, Exultemus, fo: Cxi / Jusquin, Ave maria, Cxii / Morales, Fatigatus, fo: Cxiii / Sanabria, Adorna talamum, fo: Cxiiii / Bargas, Cum sublevasset, fo: Cxvi / Esquinas, In illo tempore, fo: Cxvii / Bargas, Gabriel archangelus, fo: Cxviii / Esquinas, O blasi, fo: Cxx / Jaquet, Fratres, fo: Cxxii / Baçan, Tu cum virgineo, fo: Cxxv / Logroño, Patrem, fo: Cxxvi / Morales, Nuncius celso, fo: Cxxxi / Morales, Asperges, fo: Cxxxii / Morales, Salve, fo: Cxxxiiii / Basurto, Vexilla regis, fo: Cxxxviiii / Basurto, Los dichos de la passion, fo: Cxxxx.

As pointed out by Calahorra (1992, p. 13), in the description of this now lost two choirbooks, "lobayna" does not refer to the city of Lovaina/Leuven/Louvain, but to a canon at Tarazona cathedral named Lobayna, owner of books used by the music chapel.

The general description of this entry mentions two books; both are not extant at Tarazona cathedral. The second one, owned also by the canon Lobayna, is described "with fifteen masses", without listing its specific contents. One could think that it could refer to one of the two publications of the Liber quindecim missarum dated 1516 (RISM 1516/1) and 1539 (RISM 1539/1), respectively. However, in Inventory 2 (1591), the equivalent of this description mentions the composers and titles of the masses, and they do not correspond to any of those two publications. It should be pointed out also that in this choirbook there are sixteen works, fifteen masses and one inserted motet by García de Basurto, but in Calahorra's inventory the motet was mistakenly listed as a mass. The description reads as follows:

"Mas ay un libro de cubiertas coloradas de quince missas de dibersos autores son los siguientes: 
Vasurto, Missa Sª Trinitas, a 2 /
Vasurto, Missa Rex pacificus, a 12 /
Vasurto, Motete popule meus, a 18 / 
Fevin, Missa mente tota, a 19 /
Fevin, Missa Ave Maria, a 30 /
Jusquin, Missa De beata Virgine, a 40 /
Jusquin, Missa faisant rregret, a 55 /
Brumel, Missa pro defunctis, a 65 /
Brumel, Missa en lombre dimus buissonet, a 72 /
Picon delarue, Missa o salutaris hostia, a 76 /
Pipelarre, Missa lomme arme, a 81 /
Monton, Missa dictem moi tontem, a 94 /
Petrus Roselli, Missa baises moi, a 109 /
Jusquin, Missa ad fugam, a 117 /
Brumel, Missa de beata Virgine, a 128 /
Jusquin, Missa dominicalis, 145".

Thus, among all the names of composers mentioned in this entry [13] with two books, I have included the names of the composers mentioned in the first book, as well as the composers of masses in the second book (Brumel, La Rue, Pipelare and Pietro Roselli) listed in the description of the same book of masses in Inventory 2, but not mentioned in this entry. Among the attributions in the first book of this entry there are three ascriptions to "Errasimus", "Faber" and "Logroño" that cannot be identified with known composers. The ascriptions to "M[aest]re Nicolas" and "Vincentius", most likely refer to Nicolas Gombert and Vincenzo Ruffo. 

Submission’s author: 
Last modified: Emilio Ros-Fábregas - 09 Aug 2020

How to cite

Emilio Ros-Fábregas, "16/3 (1552-1561) [13]", Books of Hispanic Polyphony, ed. E. Ros-Fábregas (accession date: 06 Dec 2021), https://hispanicpolyphony.eu/node/31451